Exodus : The Golden calf

This is my last blog on Exodus. I wanted to finish with something that really impacted me.

The golden calf.

Exodus 32:1-2
When the people saw that Moses delayed in coming down from the mountain, they gathered around Aaron and said to him, “Come, make us a god who will go before us because this Moses, the man who brought us up from the land of Egypt-we don’t know what has happened to him! Then Aaron replied to them, “Take off the gold rings that are on the ears of your wives, your sons, and your daughters and bring them to me.” So all the people took off the gold rings that were on their ears and brought them to Aaron. He took the gold from their hand, fashioned it with an engraving tool, and made it into an image of a calf. Then they said, “Israel, this is your God, who brought you up from the land of Egypt!”
skipping to :
Vs. 19 As he (Moses) approached the camp and saw the calf and the dancing, Moses became enraged and threw the tablets out of his hands, smashing them at the base of the mountain.

I have to say I myself became enraged with the israelites! As hard it is to read Exodus, because of all the rules, how annoying was it to read about the israelites impatience! We are on chapter 32…. And it is as if we are in Moses’ pov of things. Rules on rules of how to conduct in a holy manner that is pleasing to the Lord. Then, come verse 32… they just….falter! And Aaron, the priest who was alongside Moses through everything, how could he?

Well, he did. If you continue to read on, you see that God gives them new stone tablets, Aaron still becomes the priest and his whole family become priest that guard the temple. Everything still happens that the Lord commanded. So what is my point?

My point is, WE ARE SO STUPID. Honestly the israelites are extremely similar to us in modern times. We recieve promises from God, but because He does not come through fast enough for us… we start looking for other alternatives. The gold that they used they took from their wives and daughters. They gave the golden manmade calf the glory for taking them out of Egypt. But why? How could they not believe after all that they went through in escaping Egypt. I will tell you why, because our flesh is so WEAK. And by flesh I mean body and mind. Our body is constantly asking us for pleasures, whether it’s food or sex or comfort or folly. Our mind tricks us into thinking we need things now! It tricks us into thinking that God is not going to come through for us. That is why I stress that we discover our triune self (spirit soul and body)

We can not neglect to tend to our body. That includes what we allow in our minds that could poison our hearts and lead to sin. Although God did what he needed to do, the israelites failed Him. They wasted time, resources, and their reputation as God’s holy people.

I am currently praying to God for promises, and everyday I get attacked by thoughts that tell me it’s not going to happen. God is not going to come through for you. My mind starts to rationalize why it’s impossible, and all the ways that it could fail or God could fail me. I get scared, I get anxiety and I start doubting. One thing I do, is I quickly take that thought into captivity and replace it with God’s word. I believe God’s promises for me, and I believe that He will give me the desires of my heart as I focus on Him. I know that all things are Yes in Jesus Christ. I know that I can not by any means mimic the israelites and settle for a golden calf…

When you feel God is not coming back or has left you or is taking too long to answer. He is not, He is ALWAYS working on your behalf. Read His word, sing a song, just praise Him so that those nasty thoughts do not take over your body. Amen.

